Information for Healthcare Professionals
 

 

The ColCorona Clinical Trial

COLCORONA is a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled study. Following signature of the informed consent form, 6,000 COVID-19-positive non-hospitalized subjects meeting all inclusion and no exclusion criteria are randomized to receive either colchicine (0.5 mg twice per day for 3 days and once daily for the following 27 days) or placebo (1:1 allocation ratio) for 30 days. Follow-up phone or video assessments occur at day 15 and 30 following randomization for evaluation of the occurrence of any trial endpoints or adverse events. 

 

The COLCORONA Clinical Trial protocol has been approved by ethics committees and regulatory agencies. The study is monitored by a data monitoring committee (DMC) of experienced clinical trialists and is funded by the Government of Quebec, the US National Institutes of Health, and the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation.

The primary of ColCorona Clinical Trial

The primary objective of the COLCORONA study is to determine whether short-term treatment with colchicine reduces of at least 25% the rate of death and lung complications related to COVID-19. The primary endpoint is the composite of death or the need for hospitalization due to COVID-19 infection in the 30 days following randomization. The secondary endpoints include the need for mechanical ventilation.

Why partner with Montreal Heart Institute (MHI)

Founded in 1954, the Montreal Heart Institute constantly aims for the highest standards of excellence in the health industry by its leadership in clinical and basic research, ultra-specialized care, professional training, and prevention.

The Institute, which houses the largest research center in Canada has acquired in depth knowledge about colchicine in a previous study called COLchicine Cardiovascular Outcomes Trial (COLCOT-1) published in the New England Journal of Medicine. Dr. Jean-Claude Tardif, director of the MHI Research Center, and his team demonstrated that a low daily dose of colchicine (0.5 mg) significantly reduced the risk of first and total ischemic cardiovascular events by 23% and 34% respectively compared to placebo in 4745 patients with a recent heart attack. Furthermore, colchicine has also shown in one pre-clinical study to reduce experimental (hyperoxic) lung injury.

 

How to become involved in the ColCorona Clinical Trial

There are many ways you can get involved in the ColCorona Clinical Trial as a healthcare professional:

  • Become a recruitment partner in your area

  • Display information about the ColCorona in your organization (health clinic, emergency room, pharmacies, local charities, COVID-19 testing sites, etc.)

  • Refer your COVID-19 positive patients to the hotline: 1 877-536-6837

  • Build awareness towards ColCorona amongst your peers by sending them information

 

If you are a healthcare professional and wish to become involved in the ColCorona Clinical Trial, please contact info@colcorona.net for more information on how you can help.

 

ColCorona resources for Healthcare professionals

Below are downloadable communication assets you can use to build awareness towards ColCorona Clinical Trial.

Information pour les professionnels de la santé

 

L’étude clinique ColCorona

ColCorona est une étude randomisée, à double insu, contrôlée par placebo. Après la signature du formulaire de consentement, 6000 participants, tous positifs à la COVID-19, non hospitalisés, répondant à tous les critères d’inclusion et ne présentant aucun critère d’exclusion sont randomisés pour recevoir soit de la colchicine (0,5 mg deux fois par jour pendant 3 jours et une fois par jour pendant les 27 jours suivants) ou le placebo (ratio d’allocation 1 : 1) pendant 30 jours. Des évaluations téléphoniques ou des vidéos de suivi ont lieu aux jours 15 et 30 suivant la randomisation pour évaluer la survenue de tous critères d’évaluation ou d’événements indésirables.

 

Le protocole de l’étude clinique ColCorona a été approuvé par les comités d’éthique et les organismes de réglementation. L’étude est contrôlée par un comité de surveillance de données formé de cliniciens expérimentés et est financée par le gouvernement du Québec, le National Institutes of Health (NIH) des États-Unis et la Fondation Bill & Melinda Gates.

L’objectif principal de l’étude clinique ColCorona

L’objectif principal de l’étude clinique ColCorona est de déterminer si un traitement à court terme avec la colchicine réduit d’au moins 25 % le taux de décès et de complications pulmonaires liés à la COVID-19. Le critère primaire d’efficacité est le composé de décès ou besoin d’hospitalisation dû à l’infection dans les 30 jours suivant la randomisation. Les critères secondaires d’efficacité comprennent le besoin de ventilation mécanique.

 

Pourquoi s’associer à l’Institut de Cardiologie de Montréal (ICM)

Fondé en 1954, l’Institut de Cardiologie de Montréal vise constamment les plus hauts standards d’excellence en santé par son leadership en recherche clinique et fondamentale, en soins ultraspécialisés, en formation professionnelle et en prévention. L’Institut, qui abrite le plus grand centre de recherche au Canada, a acquis des connaissances approfondies sur la colchicine dans une étude antérieure appelée COLchicine Cardiovascular Outcome Trial (COLCOT-1) et publiée dans le New England Journal of Medicine. Le Dr Jean-Claude Tardif, directeur du Centre de recherche de l’ICM, et son équipe ont démontré qu’une faible dose quotidienne de colchicine (0,5 mg) réduisait significativement le risque d’événements cardiovasculaires ischémiques primaires et totaux de 23 % et 34 % respectivement par rapport au placebo chez 4 745 patients ayant subi une crise cardiaque récente. De plus, la colchicine a également montré dans une étude préclinique qu’elle réduisait les lésions pulmonaires expérimentales (hyperoxiques).

 

Comment s’impliquer auprès de l’étude clinique ColCorona

Il y a plusieurs manières de vous impliquer auprès de l’étude clinique ColCorona en tant que professionnel de la santé :

  • Devenir un centre de recrutement de patients dans votre région ;

  • Afficher des informations sur l’étude clinique ColCorona dans votre organisation (centre de santé, salle d’urgence, pharmacies, associations caritatives locales, centres de dépistage de la COVID-19, etc.) ;

  • Dirigez vos patients positifs à la COVID-19 vers le centre d’appel : 1 877-536-6837 ;

  • Sensibiliser vos pairs à l’étude clinique ColCorona en leur envoyant des informations.

 

Si vous êtes un professionnel de la santé et souhaitez vous impliquer auprès de l’étude clinique ColCorona, veuillez contacter info@colcorona.net pour plus d’information sur la façon dont vous pouvez aider.

 

Ressources sur l’étude clinique ColCorona pour les professionnels de la santé

Vous trouverez ci-dessous des outils de communication téléchargeables que vous pouvez utiliser pour informer votre entourage face à l’étude clinique ColCorona.